About me

My name is Tara and my pronouns are she/her/hers. I am from North Ridgeville, Ohio, which is just a small suburb right off of Cleveland. I am double majoring right now in Biology and education with the goal of teaching high school. I wanted too go into special education, but that major was not offered here so I guess I can just get my graduate degree in that. I was too committed to JCU to choose a different college that did offer my major. A few things to know about me are that I love dachshunds my ultimate goal is to have like 4. I have two nephews and a niece who I babysit a lot. Sometimes it feels like they are my own kids. I don’t really do anything other than go to school and study, but I am hoping to join some sort of campus organization. In a college classroom setting, in order for me to be comfortable I would just want to be in an environment where it feels like no one is getting judged and everyone is just being supportive and helpful.

I love the book (and movie) The Lorax, by Dr. Seuss. I am thoroughly obsessed with all aspects of it. A great deal of the book is about saving the environment and to shed some light on the ongoing problem of deforestation. The overall message can be interpreted in many ways which is what I love most about it. the whole point of the book is to make readers take action on something that they care about. My favorite quote said by the Lorax: ” Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. Its not.” The Lorax just used the example of deforestation to show this message, but it can be applied to so many other things.

As I said before, the overall teaching goal is not high school biology, but high school special education. The whole reason for choosing special education was because of my peers in high school. I would go hangout with our special education department. The students, classmates, and peers I met when I would visit were some of the nicest and kindest people I have ever met. They made a huge impact on me when I was in high school and I want to make an impact on students like them.

Leave a comment